Matt Knight

My thoughts on faith, books, and life in general

Book Review: Dirty God


Johnnie Moore’s Dirty God had a lot of potential, but didn’t seem to quite live up to what I had expected. I agree with the core message of the book, that grace is for everyone, and Jesus is God who gets His hands dirty and comes down to a human level in order to bring us into a relationship with Him.

Despite my respect for Johnnie Moore and the work he’s doing at my alma mater, Liberty University, I was really pretty disappointed by this book.

There were some great stories and illustrations, but sadly they did not always seem to hit the mark and drive home the author’s point. There were also some issues that bugged me from a technical standpoint. I really would have liked to see more notes. Toward the end of the book, Johnnie does a good job at providing notes and references. However, for most of the book, I would like to see more. He does a good job at citing quotations, but especially when he makes references to scripture, I would like for readers to have some notes that point them to the Biblical text or provide some explanations for some of the assertions that he makes.

I also really liked where the book ends. I felt like Johnnie really did a good job of showing his aim for the book and making clear his pastor’s heart. I wish Johnnie much success as he ministers in a crucial role and influences tens of thousands of college students. I also hope that this book achieves his goal of helping some readers to recognize the meaning and power of God’s grace.

As much as I like Johnnie Moore and support his work, I think there are some books out currently that give a deeper and clearer treatment of this subject. I do prefer Matt Chandler’s Explicit Gospel or Max Lucado’s Grace (see my review here).
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
I review for BookSneeze®

Leave a Reply

